Children’s Belt Ranks

Our Children’s program utilizes four groups of belt ranks that follow the same pattern reflected in the traditional Kempo program. All new students begin with a white belt representing a brand new student to our school. After that rank, each student will progress through eight belt-stages of each program. At the final rank of brown, the young student is allowed to apply for the next program level even if they are not in the appropriate age range. Completion of the previous program demonstrates their maturity to move on. When the brown belt passes the new program’s evaluation, that brown belt begins taking classes covering the new set of skills at the next level and begins gaining new ranks.

Ninja Tots (3-4 years old)


Little Jr. Ninjas (5-6 years old)


Little Ninjas (7-9 years old)


Ninja Warriors (10-13 years old)


When a student reaches the Ninja Warrior brown belt level, they will begin preparing for the Junior Black Belt Test. If they complete this test, the student will graduate to the Elite Leopard program. The Elite Leopard is a specialized program that can not be taken without completing the work in another program and reaching the rank of brown belt. Only the best and brightest students can join this program.

These belt ranks provide a proven and systematic way to attain the esteemed rank of Black Belt. The belts represent milestones in the child’s journey from toddler to assertive, agile young adult who can perform at extreme levels of athleticism. The journey is long but the destination remains the same.

Leave a Reply